In a Bottle of Jack Daniels Too Deep

GENESIS : IN TOO DEEP

All that time I was searching, nowhere to run to, it started me
Thinking,
Wondering what I could make of my life, and who’d be waiting,
Asking all kinds of questions, to myself, but never finding the answers,
Crying at the top of my voice, and no one listening,
All this time, I still remember everything you said
There’s so much you promised, how could I ever forget.

Listen, you know I love you, but I just can’t take this,
You know I love you, but I’m playing for keeps,
Although I need you, I’m not gonna make this,
You know I want to, but I’m in too deep.

So listen, listen to me,
Ooh you must believe me,
I can feel your eyes go through me,
But I don’t know why.

Ooh I know you’re going, but I can’t believe
Its the way that you’re leaving,
Its like we never knew each other at all, it may be my fault,
I gave you too many reasons, being alone, when I didn’t want to
I thought you’d always be there, I almost believed you,
All this time, I still remember everything you said, oh
There’s so much you promised, how could I ever forget.

Listen, you know I love you, but I just can’t take this,
You know I love you, but I’m playing for keeps,
Although I need you, I’m not gonna make this,
You know I want to, but I’m in too deep.

So listen, listen to me,
I can feel your eyes go through me

It seems Ive spent too long
Only thinking about myself – oh
Now I want to spend my life
Just caring bout somebody else.

Listen, you know I love you, but I just can’t take this,
You know I love you, but I’m playing for keeps,
Although I need you, I’m not gonna make this,
You know I want to, but I’m in too deep.

You know I love you, but I just can’t take this,
You know I love you, but I’m playing for keeps,
Although I need you, I’m not gonna make this,
You know I want to, but I’m in too deep…

I’m at a friends drinking some Jack Daniels.

Before bed, while listening to my mp3 player and come along this song. I begin to sing along and wonder, is it the bottle of Jack? Is it my single status? Is it the fact that as a wee lad in Kenya my brother and I used to turn our room and bunk-beds into a fort of sorts, listen and sing to Phil Collins and other songs while playing with our imaginary friends? Can not wait to see what my future therapist has to say about that lil nugget of memory.

Could be any one of those reasons, one thing I do know is last year I heard Genesis was coming to Rome.

I could not quite put my finger on why that name sounded familiar until, a few days before the date. I saw a magazine advertising the concert. I realized it was Phil and company. I did not make it to the concert but remember driving by Circo Massimo, was the scene of another spectacle (the huge grassy arena formerly the site for chariot races and deaths of more Christians than were slain in the Colosseum down the road).

I saw the huge stage, the bright lights and masses of people, Genesis had arrived. I immediately regretted not making it the second concert I would have attended. The first being Gogol Bordello opened by Juliette Lewis and The Licks. Great show and compared to most actor musicians she seemed to be actually more into the music than she is acting…or maybe she was acting, which would make her a good actress acting really well as a musician, win win. n she purdy :oP .

That was the birth of this rAnt, as the regret led me to download various Phil Collins songs, listen to them on my computer, out them on the mp3 player, listened to them last night while drunken, listened to it today when sober on the balcony after a day of sculpting, rAnted about it for you lucky reAders.

Anyway Phil pwns, sings Disney songs and sad, sappy songs that I like. Although my pallet may not yet be mature enough to drink it warm and straight, Jack Daniels tastes like a Syrupy Vanilla elixir of smiles and warm hugs when mixed with cola.

One response to “In a Bottle of Jack Daniels Too Deep

  1. Pingback: Oh, if I Were Liberace « Rant A. Tonne·

Let us know what you think

