C. S. Lewis – ‘Adult’

cslewis.adult.rantatonne

Critics who treat adult as a term of approval, instead of as a merely descriptive term, cannot be adult themselves. To be concerned about being grown up, to admire the grown up because it is grown up, to blush at the suspicion of being childish; these things are the marks of childhood and adolescence. And in childhood and adolescence they are, in moderation, healthy symptoms. Young things ought to want to grow. But to carry on into middle life or even into early manhood this concern about being adult is a mark of really arrested development. When I was ten, I read fairy tales in secret and would have been ashamed if I had been found doing so. Now that I am fifty I read them openly. When I became a man I put away childish things, including the fear of childishness and the desire to be very grown up.

-C.S. Lewis

I cannot recall any specific occupation I wanted to hold as an adult. By the age of 15 I had spent 5 years on 3 continents that exposed me to many definitions of what ‘adulthood’ should entail. Navigating the norms of old, colonial and new western societies at somewhat disjointed age ranges, was a challenge. It was simpler to think of what I did not want than to focus on those I did ad the later seemed to be more subject to changes outside my control than not…

I cannot quite recall how it happened, the experiences that led me to no longer entertain the question of how to be an adult.

Do I have every answer of what to do in my life?

No.

I am certain that my life is what I do.

As an adult.

One response to “C. S. Lewis – ‘Adult’

  1. Pingback: The Oscar goes to – #BLACKPARENTINGMATTERS | Rant A. Tonne·

Let us know what you think

