Soul turns Mating into Lovemaking

What is the Soul or Spirit? I do not quite know myself. Would need to know to find that fabled soulmate.

Here is a transcript of from a part of a podcast by philosopher, Stefan Molyneux. He has call in shows where he takes questions and has conversations. I often listen to them while working out or drawing. Below is an exchange from a conversation on how to find a quality partner to start a family with that made me pause and take a note:

If you could look for qualities of the soul and the spirit rather than qualities of the body or the mere intellect…If I were to give you a prescription for happiness, and I can’t tell anyone what to do. I will tell you that if you want to be in a relationship with a woman for your life, looks ain’t gonna cut it.

…I think we all know that sexuality exists for the creation of children and genitals are compatible for the creation not of orgasms but of parents. Our sex organs are designed to turn us from men into fathers and our sex organs are designed to turn us from women into mothers.

It is not a personal playground of selfish gratification, it is what nature does to make more of us, and I think if you start to think of sexuality not as release but union; not as relief, but as the building blocks of a stable family structure. I think you will go a long towards building the kind of family and having the kind of connection an the kind of stability that’s going to be really great for these kids.

This should be the way all Sex-Ed classes start and end.

Philosophy challenges you to search out the core meanings of things. I have long thought that brushing the hand of a cherished friend is more satisfying than spending nights in the company of attractive strangers.

This extra level of cognition and intent is the ‘Human’ aspect of human-nature.

work-in-progressFrom experience the more I know and appreciate someone the more their presence counts, the more what we do has meaning. This isn’t a controversial statement, but I do not know if this is common knowledge in society.

As, although I have and do think this, I did not always live by it.

I would be happy if the next person I have these relations with was also the last. I sure plan on it being the last person I want to have them with. To that end there are some questions.

What is the soul?

What is the spirit?

I will use my mind to better identify those things while ensuring I am psychically in a place to be able to take part in this if it were to occur. I still have a way to go but the journey and destination is more than worth it.

Let us know what you think

