Curious Case of Lena Dunham

I am biased against this individual for valid reasons. Are they valid?

Lena Dunham, is an American celebrity that came to her fame though both starring and writing, directing and producing the show “Girls.” She is a self proclaimed Feminist and has to made news as being somewhat outspoken a range of social issues.

Abort. Abort! Abort?

Ms. Dunhams, recent discussion of abortion during her podcast, left me with some questions and possible realizations. An excerpt, in the context of having been unqualified to participate in a project where women share their abortion stories :

“So many people I love – my mother, my best friends – have had to have abortions for all kinds of reasons,” Dunham said. “I feel so proud of them for their bravery, for their self-knowledge, and it was a really important moment for me then to realize I had internalized some of what society was throwing at us and I had to put it in the garbage.”

“Now I can say that I still haven’t had an abortion, but I wish I had,” she said.

From Abortions Signal “Self-Knowledge”

These comments did not go over well, to which she responded via an Instagram post, including this:

I would never, ever intentionally trivialize the emotional and physical challenges of terminating a pregnancy. My only goal is to increase awareness and decrease stigma. I take reproductive choice in America more seriously than I take literally anything else, and therefore own full responsibility for any words I speak that don’t convey this truth clearly. I know plenty of people will never like a thing that leaves my lips, mea culpas or no, but this apology is for the women who have placed their trust in me.

From “Never, Ever Intentionally Trivialize” Abortion

Having recently posted about the topic,  her initial comments were somewhat disgusting to me. Why would one wish for such an experience? I wondered if as in the description of her podcast she views others as a collection of inanimate ‘bodies’ and not individuals. (I do not encourage you to listen to the entire podcast)

lenadunham-bodiesandmore-rantatonne

Do some view others as extras in a show they created and star in? Non-Playable characters in a video-game that is their life. Would make sense of how they view abortions and other things. Generally if they you do not interact with the NPCs the game can continue relatively smoothly that they may as well not exist. A few may initiate or unlock certain events but even the most complicated ones are just carrying out a per-programed reaction to the players presence.

Your Bias is Showing

Did i think dead bodies due to my bias and the topic of abortion?  Was I focusing too much on the child’s body just as pro-choice advocates seem to focus on the females body? After all the term is used in other fields such as health and fitness. Take care of your body. Are you Beach Body ready? How to get rid of your Dad-Bod.

Was I being someone that would unfairly dislike anything Dunham says?

I am not in the target demographic of her show and creative material and could have missed the joke, but to say she would not intentionally trivialize abortion. (I do not encourage you read her post, it is shorter than the podcast)… knowing that literally often means figuratively to some what can you deduce from this? Considering claims that  jokes about females weight or sexual behavior can be  considered harmful acts of body or slut shaming.Admittedly shaming does not literally mean trivializing.

bodystandard-rantatonne

#Patriarchy

Conclusion

These may be the most telling words she wrote.

“My words were spoken from a sort of “delusional girl” persona I often inhabit.”

Jebus, is this really how she lives? If so that is frightful and a bit sad. I have been under delusions and they can be crippling. Yet spurts of creativity have came during this dissociative mental state where the lines between reality and fiction blurred. I dealt with it on with not barely a fraction of the public stage she is on. I wish her help and all, to join and deal with reality, but still… go away.

_______

Bias made me think of Tobias Fünke M.D. : Analrapist. Now here are some jokes you get  about generally controversial topics. Some I did miss and get after re-watching the episode.

Not an abortion.

girlinmysoup.arrested_development.rantatonne.png

Let us know what you think

