Sound of Samples #3

In Did you Steal That Sunshine? I discussed how many songs are sampled and this isn’t in one specific genre. Shall post of different versions of songs in the Sound of Samples series. May include ones that I think failed to do justice to what came before but likely keep it positive.

This Woman’s Work by Kate Bush

This Woman’s Work by Maxwell (live)

This is another case of essentially a direct cover of the original. Maxwell puts his own touch on it in the one he released a video. Linked that in the Women are Worth Your Time and as that title says, my word is this Kate bush song worth it. The first Ohhhhh oooohhhh oooooooooooooohhhhh. Chills. I have an early memory of Maxwell’s version. I had this Sony NW-E40 MP3 player and remember listening to it on repeat coming back or going to some wrestling tournament in Hagerstown MD. This song brought tears to my young eyes. Still moves me. In the pre-omninternet days took a while to find out it was a cover.

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 02.34.32

Good times!

Used the lyrics written by Kate bush but Maxwell alters some of the pronouns and does an interesting play coming out of falsetto towards the crescendo. The lyric ‘my lovechild’ more implicitly refer to the childbearing subject and a masculine role of caring for the wants and needs of a partner… Here’s a link to the video. Shall include it’s lyrics below. Good to listen for the slightly different takes on the same subject matter.

Lyrics

KATE BUSH

Pray God you can cope
I stand outside this woman’s work
This woman’s world
Ooh, it’s hard on the man
Now his part is over
Now starts the craft of the father

I know you have a little life in you yet
I know you have a lot of strength left
I know you have a little life in you yet
I know you have got a lot of strength left

I should be crying, but I just can’t let it show
I should be hoping, but I can’t stop thinking

Of all the things I should’ve said
That I never said
All the things we should’ve done
Though we never did
All the things I should’ve given
But I didn’t
Oh, darling, make it go
Make it go away

Give me these moments back
Give them back to me
Give me that little kiss
Give me your hand

(I know you have a little life in you yet)
(I know you have a lot of strength left)
(I know you have a little life in you yet)
(I know you have a lot of strength left)

I should be crying, but I just can’t let it show
I should be hoping, but I can’t stop thinking

Of all the things we should’ve said
That we never said
All the things we should’ve done
Though we never did
All the things that you needed from me
All the things that you wanted for me
All the things that I should’ve given
But I didn’t
Oh, darling, make it go away
Just make it go away now

MAXWELL VIDEO VERSION

Pray God you can cope
I’ll stand outside
This woman’s work
This woman’s world
Oh it’s hard on the man
Now his part is over
Now starts the craft of the father

I know you’ve got a little life in you left
I know you’ve got a lotta strength left
I know you’ve got a little life in you left
I know you’ve got a lotta strength left

I should be cryin’ but I just can’t let it show
I should be hopin’ but I can’t stop thinkin’
Of all the things we should’ve said that we never said
And all the things we should’ve done that we never did
All the things we should’ve given, but I didn’t
Oh darlin’, make it go
Make it go away

Give me these moments
Give them back to me
Give me your little kiss
Give me your…

I know you’ve got a little life in you left
Give me your hand baby
I know you’ve got a lotta strength
Give me that pretty hand
I know you’ve got a little life in you left
Show me you understand
I know you’ve got a lotta strength left
My lovechild
I know you’ve got a little life in you left
Whatever you need
I know you’ve got a lotta strength left
Give me your hand
I know you’ve got a little life in you left
Give me your hand
I know you’ve got a lotta strength left

Should be cryin’ but I just can’t let it go

Should be hoping but I can’t stop…
thinkin’ and thinkin’ and thinkin’
Of all the things we should’ve said that we never said
All the things we should’ve done that we never did
All the things that you wanted from me
All the things that you needed from me
All the things we should’ve given, but I didn’t
Oh darlin’, make it go
Just make it go away

Which version do you prefer? Fantastic songs, now listening to the three. Can’t say which is my favorite.
sound-of-samples-02.worthy-work.jpg

________

Thank you for reading. Subscribe to the Blog for more or:

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter

One response to “Sound of Samples #3

  1. Pingback: Is Any Woman Worthy? | Rant A. Tonne·

Let us know what you think

