Sounds of Samples #4

In Did you Steal That Sunshine? I discussed how many songs are sampled and this isn’t in one specific genre. Shall post of different versions of songs in the Sound of Samples series. May include ones that I think failed to do justice to what came before but likely keep it positive.

Shy Guy by Diana King

Dance With My Father by Celine Dion

Thoughts

Essentially the hook. Was taken in when i first heard it and still like it. Lord o mercy mercy mercy. That line my be from elsewhere as well. If i find out it’ll likely come up in another installment of this series but for now great song. Again could check this but was the video made for the film? once upon a time films used to make entire soundtracks of music just for it, rather than just plugging in whatever is currently popular. A little touch with having the actors from the film participate in the video is appreciated.

As for the sample, whenever I hear Mustard on the Beat, I’m likely going to be liking what comes after. Jeremih puts a good touch on the hook and as mentioned in the #2 post switching genders can be a challenge, but he does a good job with some lyric change. It comes off as a response of sorts to the request of Diana King’s lyrics.
That video though, both good ones. Liking the same hook for different reasons 🙂

Lyrics

Shy Guy : Diana King

I don’t want no fly guy
I just want a shy guy
That’s what I want yeah
You know what I want yeah

Oh Lord have mercy mercy mercy
Di man dem in a di party party party
Di whole a dem sexy sexy sexy
Watch dem just a
Follow me follow me follow me

Everywhere me go di man dem a rush me
Yes a whole eep a pretty boy wah fi love me
A me dem love, yes a me dem love

True them know me sweet and me sexy
Everywhere me go me say me ever ready
A me dem love, yes a me dem love

But I don’t want somebody
Who’s loving everybody
I need a shy guy
He’s the kinda guy, who’ll only be mine

Oh Lord have mercy mercy mercy
Di man dem in a di party party party
Di whole a dem sexy sexy sexy
Watch dem just a
Follow me follow me follow me
Have mercy mercy mercy
But none a dem no move me move me move me
Shy guy a weh me wanty wanty wanty
Only him can make me irie irie irie

Roughneck man me no want none a dem
Beat up me body lick off me head top
Me no want none a dat
Me no want none a dat
Big things a gwaan fi all di shy man dem
Wat to be my love and wat to be my friend
Till the very end, till the very end

But I don’t want somebody
Who’s loving everybody
I need a shy guy, he’s the kinda guy
Who’ll only be mine

Oh Lord have mercy mercy mercy
Di man dem in a di party party party
Di whole a dem sexy sexy sexy
Watch dem just a
Follow me follow me follow me
Have mercy mercy mercy
But none a dem no move me move me move me
Shy guy a weh me wanty wanty wanty
Only him can make me irie irie irie

Have mercy mercy mercy
Mercy mercy come on

Shy man me wanna hear you,
Roll up your one in the air make me ice you
If ya nah one of them me nah wan see you
This one dedicated to all the shy man crew

Shy man me wanna hear you,
Roll up your one in the air make me ice you
If ya nah one of them me nah wan see you
This one dedicated to all the shy man crew

‘Cause I don’t want somebody
Who’s loving everybody
I need a shy guy
He’s the kinda guy, who’ll only be mine

Oh Lord have mercy mercy mercy
Di man dem in a di party party party
Di whole a dem sexy sexy sexy
Watch dem just a
Follow me follow me follow me
Have mercy mercy mercy
But none a dem no move me move me move me
Shy guy a weh me wanty wanty wanty
He can make me irie irie irie

Have mercy mercy mercy
Di man dem in a di party party party
Di whole a dem sexy sexy sexy
Watch dem just a
Follow me follow me follow me
Have mercy mercy mercy
But none a dem no move me move me move me
Shy guy a weh me wanty wanty wanty
He can make me irie irie irie

Shy guy, shy guy, shy guy

Don’t Hurt Me : DJ Mustard ft Jeremih and Nicki Minaj

Tryna get up in my head, now that’s a headache
I just wanna fuck, I make the bed shake
She wanna spend some time, now that’s a Rollie
Shawty ride the dick, just like it’s stolen
Met her at the Westin with her bestie
Kissin’, they were sweatin’, doin’ lip things
Had to get up in that lil thang, yeah that lil thang
Let her rock the mic, yeah and her lips sing
They say that it’s last call, so let’s ball
Tryna have that ass thrown on that pole
Throw it back like retro, like it’s retro
Baby, baby, let’s go, girl let’s go

We take it to my room, yeah
Ain’t no need to talk
When that ass on me and the lights off
Baby, I know what to do with it
Give her what she want
Now she wanna fuck a nigga all the time

Oh baby, don’t hurt me, hurt me, hurt me
You know I like it naughty, naughty, naughty
When they hear me, want that sexy, sexy, sexy
Want lovin’ if you let me, let me, let me
Don’t hurt me, hurt me, hurt me
You know I like it naughty, naughty, naughty
When they hear me, want that sexy, sexy, sexy
Want lovin’ if you let me, let me, let me

Tryna get up in my head, now that’s a headache
I just wanna fuck, and get my cake ate
You wanna spend some time, that’s a Rollie
I’mma ride his D, like it’s stolen
I met him in the Hills out in LA
Took me for a cruise, yeah, Penelope
Had to sit up on that big thing, that big thing
Super duper freak, yeah, like Rick James
They say that it’s last call, for that bar
Tryna get that peach Myx Moscato
Make it clap like when the home team score
Baby don’t you hurt me like before

Take you to my room, yeah
Ain’t no need to talk
When this thing in your mouth, down south
Baby, you know what to do with it
Gave him what he want
Now he wanna hit your girl all the time

Oh baby, don’t hurt me, hurt me, hurt me
You know I like it naughty, naughty, naughty
When they hear me, want that sexy, sexy, sexy
Want lovin’ if you let me, let me, let me
Don’t hurt me, hurt me, hurt me
You know I like it naughty, naughty, naughty
When they hear me, want that sexy, sexy, sexy
Want lovin’ if you let me, let me, let me

All these bitches beggin’ me to pass the baton
All these bitches tryna fit my crown and my wand
Bitches still my sons, get your sonogram on
Just a nick of time I did the cover of TIME
Gettin’ a million dollars just to stand there and rhyme
Even if you was Curry, bitch, there’s still a LeBron
But let’s face it, I’m Curry, with rings like LeBron
Added my rings up, that’s Mike Jordan
I told bitches when I switched my flow four times
I’d be damned if a bitch nigga eat off mine
All this cake make a broke nigga beat off, huh?
I’m just lookin’ for a man, fuck a B-O-Y

Don’t hurt me, hurt me, hurt me
You know I like it naughty, naughty, naughty
When they hear me, want that sexy, sexy, sexy
Want lovin’ if you let me, let me, let me
Don’t hurt me, hurt me, hurt me
You know I like it naughty, naughty, naughty
When they hear me, want that sexy, sexy, sexy
Want lovin’ if you let me, let me, let me

Which version do you prefer? Wonder if it changes depending on your gender, I imagine it may more if you have unfortunately lost your father.

sound-of-samples-04.hurt-me

________

Thank you for reading. Subscribe to the Blog for more or:

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter

Let us know what you think

