Johnny Depp : Deep or Derp?

Am I being jaded or was this said in the sense to play down people thinking a celebrity will actually carry out the violence?

E.g. ‘It’s not like X celeb will actually plan and carry out Y thing they said.”

That being said my objection is to celebrity worship and susceptibility of people that can and do commit acts of violence. People do things on a daily basis because they saw someone famous associated with the thing they do. I don’t think they should but they do.

“I’m not insinuating anything – by the way, this will be in the press and it will be horrible – but when was the last time an actor assassinated a president?” Depp asked, adding “I want to clarify, I am not an actor. I lie for a living. However, it has been a while, and maybe it is time.”

via Johnny Depp Apologizes for Trump Assassination Barb After White House Condemns

Here is a video where I discuss some of this celebrity effect Drafting Opinions

EDIT

The context of what Depp said in full is not what I thought.

“I think [Donald] Trump needs help. There are a lot of dark places he could go.”

He then added, “I’m not insinuating anything – by the way, this will be in the press and it will be horrible – but when was the last time an actor assassinated a president?”

Depp then added, “I want to clarify, I am not an actor. I lie for a living. However, it has been a while, and maybe it is time.”

Video included in this article Johnny Depp: ‘When Was the Last Time an Actor Assassinated a President?’

Notice where the audio is cut off in the Telegraph article Johnny Depp slams Donald Trump at Glastonbury and asks: ‘When was the last time an actor assassinated a president?’

Leaving out “and maybe it’s time.” changes a lot.

Verdict : Derp

________

Thank you for reading. Subscribe to the Blog for more or:
YouTube | VidMe | Instagram | Twitter | Minds

One response to “Johnny Depp : Deep or Derp?

  1. Pingback: WHINGERMANIA 7217 and Counting : Minds Continue to be Lost | Rant A. Tonne·

Let us know what you think

