Nations By Consent : Decomposing the Nation-State | Murray N Rothbard

What is a nation and what is a state? Can you be of one and not the other? Having been born in France to Kenyan diplomats, moved back to Nairobi from 5-10, then off to the United States of America, I have questioned my own identify as a member of a nation and wondered what exactly people consider so positive about states.

Murray N Rothbard, an American heterodox economist of the Austrian School is one of the fathers of the modern Libertarian movement. His work has influenced many other people whom have influenced me. I decided it was about time I began reading more of his work, and as I tend to enjoy material in the audio form, and I argue we evolved telling stories and still have that a    s a key delivery method, I decided to make a recording of it.

I chose his paper “Nations By Consent : Decomposing the Nation-state.” published in the Journal of Libertarian Studies in 1994. coincidentally this is the year My family moved to the United States of America. Many thoughts and suspicions I have had are discussed in this paper. I find it nigh unassailable. He condensed these ideas into this paper and it has not been available for decades yet goes unpracticed by the vast majority of people. If my reading of this can help spread the word to even one more person, then it is well worth the effort.

I incorrectly stated the relationship between Rothbard and the Mises institute at the end. Rothbard, Lew Rockwell and Burton Blumert established the Mises institute and were all inspired by Ludvig von Mises.

I shall consider doing a translation of this into one or two other languages. Swahili and Italian are ones I would be comfortable speaking but can try others. If you are interested in providing a written translation or reading one for recording, please let me know.

LINKS

All profits from the Rothbard | Anyone but Che merchandise will be donated to the Mises Institute. They do fantastic work there.

rothbard-get-more.jpg

__________
Thank you for reading. Subscribe to the Blog for more or
YouTube | Rumble | Instagram | Behance | Twitter | Substack | MindsBitChute  | Odysee
Paypal | Store

15 responses to “Nations By Consent : Decomposing the Nation-State | Murray N Rothbard

  1. Pingback: The Worst Conspiracy Ever | What Would Change If I Am Right? | Rant A. Tonne·

  2. Pingback: Confessions of MASCULINITY | Links I Like | Rant A. Tonne·

  3. Pingback: Secessions History : Links I Like | Rant A. Tonne·

  4. Pingback: Is There A Rothbardian Tax System?| Links I Like | Rant A. Tonne·

  5. Pingback: Davies on Myths of State Debt | Links I Like | Rant A. Tonne·

  6. Pingback: Herbner on Subjective Value | Links I Like | Rant A. Tonne·

  7. Pingback: Timothy D. Terrell on Free-Market Medical Care | Links I Like | Rant A. Tonne·

  8. Pingback: I Believe You Don’t Believe In Believing | Rant A. Tonne·

  9. Pingback: My Best Case Scenario of a Trump Presidency (It’s Already Happened) | Rant A. Tonne·

  10. Pingback: Go Back to Europe & Take those NBADOS with You! | Question For… | Rant A. Tonne·

  11. Pingback: The USA’s FAILED STATE is Greater Than Your Succesful State | Understanding Convolutions | Rant A. Tonne·

  12. Pingback: [Audio + Video] Murray Rothbard’s ‘Nations by Consent’ – INDIAN LIBERTY REPORT·

  13. Pingback: One Nation Indivisible From Bigotry | Should Trump be cheered for destroying the USA? | Rant A. Tonne·

  14. Pingback: The State Is A Human Construct | Is The State Natural? | Rant A. Tonne·

  15. Pingback: Trump called Putin a GENIUS!!! | Perception Matters | Rant A. Tonne·

Let us know what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.